Good Government Award

Good Government Award

To nominate a candidate for the Good Government Award, please fill out thisPDF iconform and send to P.O. Box 835 Manhattan, KS 66505 or email it to

Past Recipients of the Good Government Award:

  • Presented in May, 2019 - City Commissioner Linda MorseOur community is stronger because of her excellent leadership. Thank you, Commissioner!


  • Presented in September, 2013 --City Commissioner Karen McCulloh. Her decades long advocacy for the citizens of Riley County and Manhattan is greatly appreciated.


  • Presented in February 2011 -- Anne Smith in recognition of her exemplary management of the Flint Hills Area Transportation Agency and her commitment to bringing public transit to Manhattan/Riley county.


  • Presented in June 2009 -- Debbie Nuss was recognized for her civic activism and leadership.


  • Presented in June 2008 -- Stephanie Rolley was recognized for her leadership, courage, and adherence to good government practices during her tenure as Chair of the Manhattan Urban Area Planning Board.


  • Presented in May 2007 -- James Butler was recognized for his advocacy for civil rights, equal opportunity and and racial equality.


  • Presented in April 2006 -- Christopher Renner was recognized for his advocacy for civil rights particularly in regard to homosexuals, cultural harmony, and gender equality.


  • Presented in April 2005 -- James Sherow was recognized for his work in the area of preservation, affordable family housing and neighborhood rezoning.


  • Presented in January 2004 -- Mary Don Peterson, then President of the Coalition of Neighborhood Associations, was recognized for her efforts toward enacting zoning ordinances such as the Traditional Neighborhood Overlay and Multi-Family Redevelopment Overlay for older, traditional neighborhoods.